Bloom wedding | DIY bespoke stationery

I’ve not shared much about my own wedding here on the blog, but as it comes up to our one-year anniversary, I thought it was a good time to start talking. Since save the dates are one of first things you’re likely to sort after you’ve decided on your venue, let’s kick off with stationery.

My husband calls me a stationery geek and there’s no way I can deny this title, since I do have a love for all things papery. When it came to our wedding stationery however, we planned to go easy on the crafty approach and wanted a bespoke designed suite by a graphic designer or illustrator. A few pricey quotes quickly put a stop to that idea, before I turned to Etsy and discovered the wonderful world of DIY printables. The bespoke look without the hefty price tag.

Hannah & Gav's wedding at Shustoke Farm Barns,Our invite on the DIY pinboard at my parents house alongside a photo of my dad as a kid and a poem I had published when I was 11!

DIY printables are where you buy a PDF file of a particular design (eg invitation, menu or order of service) or a full stationery suite, which you download, edit with your own details and print-off on your chosen card. It’s amazingly simple and one of my biggest tips for creating a designer look for less.

One lesson we learnt however, is that if you don’t have Photoshop, you won’t be able to save the documents to print later or send to a professional printer. So, ensure you have adequate ink and card in your home printer before you start, so you can edit and print the lot off in one go.

Hannah & Gav's wedding at Shustoke Farm Barns,Our order of service at Shustoke Barn. The wedding stationery suite was from Amy Adams Printables.

My pick of the best DIY wedding printables

There’s a DIY printable suite out there for every taste and wedding style – it’s just a case by searching by keywords to narrow down the many, many options on Etsy. I used terms like calligraphy, watercolour, kraft card and black and white to find these lovely designs. What’s your approach for wedding stationery? Are you going DIY?

Wedding stationery PDFsCalligraphy style / Black & white / Watercolour design / Lace design

What next?

Leave a Reply

